fashion · lifestyle · story

Interview with Izabela Kečan

14980583_615753325298243_176430416964441611_n

Hey guys!
As you now last week was Fashion Week in Serbia! One of shows that I went to was Izabela Kečan’s. She’s a young,talented Croatian designer that has an amazing collection called “White”. I had a crazy luck to meet her, interview her and maybe to create friendship for a lifetime! She certainly left a mark in my life.

15055717_615752901964952_2027137580455297307_n Ćao!
Kao što već znate, prošle nedelje bio je Serbia Fashion Week! Jedna od revija koje sam gledala bila je i od Izabele Kečan. Ona je mlada, talentovana dizajnerka iz Hrvatske koja ima neverovatnu kolekciju pod nazivom “Belo.” Imala sam tu ludu sreću da je upoznam, itervjuišem i čak sam možda stvorila prijateljstvo za ceo život! Jer zasigurno je ostavila obeležje u mom životu.
p.s. Odgovori na srpskom su odmah iza ovih na engleskom!

14915393_615753238631585_5762186555449192033_n

  1. How did the passion for designing appeared?
    Since I know for myself I was always drawing or creating something. Whole my life I was pushing it away even tho people were always telling me that something you are pushing away, you usually want the most. Because of that I’m sure that the answer for this question is, that the passion for designing was born with coincidence and luck.
  2. Was it hard to begin? And how today are you treating this job?
    Well, design is something that you work on your whole life. There’s no person in this world that succeed with one design and manage to live with it.  Knowing that, it’s hard to start and fight for it to last. Of course, we’re all different. Therefore people that had more money, better contacts and acquaintances got more easy in this job than I did. But I don’t feel bad, because with every handshake I tried to leave a mark about who I am and what I do. Nothing is easy, but I think this is the main addition to life and we need to respect that.
    15036219_615753138631595_3581737729791459109_n
  3. Is this work a big influence on your private life?
    In one hand it is, and in the other it isn’t. Organization is very important. I would rather say that my life is the one that affects my design.
  4. How do you feel about presenting your collection on SFW?
    I feel great. There were problems on the beginning, but these troubles always show up before goal, so I got used to it. I’m very happy that I worked with models that I personally know, even tho I didn’t know who will wear my collection till the final moment. These girls came to me in backstage and they told me that they switched with their colleagues so they could be in my show. Until the day of my show I didn’t know will my dresses fit to girls, because I couldn’t come to rehearsals. So when something like this happen you’re very thankful that you’re the person that you are. I gave many interviews, which is for my job very important. I got wonderful comments about the theme of my collection which was different then of the others, and what is interesting is that it was simple but not boring.
    12107269_454744678065776_7563310992006819579_n
  5. Few words about the collection?
    Collection “White” was shown in July 2016. in Belgrade. After I got the invitation for SFW I decided to use the collection from Belgrade for Serbia Fashion Week. I’ve chosen 6 models from that collection and used my first wedding dressed that I made after Belgrade show, so nowhere on scene it wasn’t saw. From those 6 models I remade 3 and the other 3 stayed the same. Remade models were decorated with tulle and nice macramé lace. Lace and tulle were handmade by myself. It was hard work, especially when you sew 10 meters of tulle with your hand and then on the machine, but I love to play with these things. They give me that feeling of good done job.
  6. Were you part of some other events?
    My first show was in Zagreb in Dorm, it was for charity. All donations went for teaching school for dogs for the blind. Second was in Belgrade. And third, here, in Novi Sad for Serbia Fashion Week.
  7. How much effort did you put in this collection? What are your expectations?
    I will say it this way: With this job designing for shows, I do orders, I give instructions to colleagues from University for sewing, so I have currently 3 jobs and I’m a regular student of Textile-Technology Faculty in Zagreb for fashion design. I think I’m in the group of people that have to put a lot of effort in their work, so everything I do I do with 1000% of myself. I can see that my effort pays off and after SFW my wish is that my next catwalks be more and more longer. I want to do this job and live from it. I don’t care about fame, all I care about is happiness of my clients that gives me their trust and that loves to wear my design.
  8. Plans for future?
    To do everything from my schedule, to become more larger and to go further.

14937445_615753001964942_4378990325839815689_n

  1. Otkud želja da budete dizajnerka ?
    Od kad znam za sebe, uvijek sam nešto crtala i kreirala.
    Traje to već poduže vrijeme samo što sam to kroz život nekako gurala od sebe, a lijepo su mi govorili da ono što najviše guraš od sebe obično najviše želi k tebi. Tako da sam sigurna da je odgovor na ovo pitanje, da je želja za dizajnom rođena pukom slučajnosti i s malo sreće, očito.
  2. Da li je bilo teško započeti?Kako se danas ophodite prema ovom poslu?
    Pa, dizajn je nešto što radiš i razvijaš cijeli život. Ne postoji osoba u ovom poslu koja je postigla uspjeh s jednim dizajnom i od toga živjela na temelju toga.
    Stoga, teško je započeti i boriti se da to traje. Naravno svi smo različiti pa je nekome tko ima veća materijalna sredstva, kontakte i poznanstva, bilo lakše ući u ovaj posao za razliku od mene koja nisam bila te sreće. Ali meni nije žao jer sam se potrudila da svaku ruku koju stisnem u njoj ostavim snažan utisak na to tko sam i što radim. Ništa nije lako, ali smatram da je to esencijalni dodatak životu i to treba poštovati.
    15055620_615753218631587_3613003516719504003_n
  3. Da li ovaj posao previše utjece na Vas privatni život?
    Koliko da toliko i ne. Bitna je dobra organizacija. Više bih rekla da život previše utječe na moj posao u dizajnu.
  4. Kako se osjećate povodom predstavljanja Vaše kolekcije na SFW-u?
    Osjećam se super. Bilo je nekih problema u početku ali takve greške uvijek dolaze pred sam cilj, pa sam već navikla na njih. Presretna sam zbog toga što sam radila s modelima koje poznajem, što nisam ni znala do zadnjeg trena. One su pristupile meni u backstage-u i rekle da su se već zamijenile s kolegicama da bi mogle nositi moju reviju što mi je olakšalo posao i dalo poseban osjećaj oko srca.  Ja do dana revije nisam ni znala hoće li mi curama stajati haljine, jer nisam mogla doci na probe prije same revije. Tako da kada se nešto ovakvo dogodi drago ti je da si osoba kakva jesi.
    Dala sam puno interview-a što je u mom poslu važno. Dobila sam pozitivne komentare na temu kolekcije koja je očigledno bila drugačija od svih tamo, a najzanimljivije je što je bila jednostavna ali ne i dosadna.
    13254209_531904287016481_7815228829792884298_n
  5. Par riječi o kolekciji
    Kolekcija ”Bijelo” je predstavljena u 6.mjesecu u Beogradu 2016.godine. Nakon poziva na SFW sam odlučila uzeti svoju Beogradsku kolekciju u Novi sad. Odabrala sam 6 modela iz te kolekcije i posudila svoju prvu vjenčanicu, koju sam sašila nakon revije u Beogradu pa nije nigdje na sceni bila viđena. Od 6 modela plus 1 novi(vjenčanica), preuredila sam 3 komada ,a 3 su ostala ista. Preuređeni komadi su ukrašeni tilom i finom makrame čipkom, koju sam kao i til – ručno izrezivala i ručno našivala komad po komad. Bio je to težak posao pogotovo kada našiješ 10 metara tila ručno pa potom na mašini, ali ja se volim igrati takvim stvarima jer mi pružaju osjećaj dobro obavljenog posla.
  6. Da li ste učestvovali na još nekim manifestacijama?
    Prva revija na kojoj sam izlagala je bila u Zagrebu, u studentskom centru u humanitarne svrhe. Sva prodana sredstva su išla za školovanje pasa vodiča za slijepe osobe.Druga je bila u Beogradu. I treća sreća , u Novom Sadu, Serbia fashion week.
  7. Koliko ste truda i napora uložili u ovu kolekciju? Koja su Vaša očekivanja?
    Pa ovako ću to reći : Uz svoj posao dizajniranja za reviju radim narudžbe, držim instrukcije kolegama s faxa iz šivanja, radim trenutno 3 posla i redoviti sam student Tekstilno – tehnološkog fakulteta u Zagrebu, smjer modni dizajn.Mislim da spadam u skupinu ljudi koji u životu trebaju puno više ulagati u svoj životi više se boriti tako da sve što radim s 1000% jer drugačije ni ne znam.
    Vidim da se moj trud vraća i da polako rastem (što mi savršeno odgovara) i nakon SFW-a sam  zaželjela da mi svaka sljedeća pista bude sve duža i duža – baš kao što se to događalo i do sada. Želim raditi ovaj posao cijeli život i živjeti od njega. Slava mi nije toliko bitna, koliko su mi izrazi sreće klijentica koje mi daju svoje povjerenje i vole nositi moj dizajn.
  8. Planovi za budućnost?
    Stići obaviti sve s rasporeda, proširiti se još više i otići još dalje.

15056320_615753291964913_7532764637168445770_n
.

 

 

Leave a Reply

